Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Water form

“The difference that any of us will ultimately make in the world is equivalent to our throwing a stone into the sea.  Science tells us that because the stone is lying on the bottom, the level of the water must have risen, but there is no way to measure it.  We must take it entirely on faith.”

–Gregg Levoy

Today I changed the history of the world, and I did it all before noon.  I am already feeling quite satisfied with my day.  I may just kick back and take the rest of the day off. (Not really – that’s not even really possible, according to my criteria for changing the world).

This morning I brought my mother and a friend to a yoga class taught by my favorite yoga teacher.  I have been trying to make this happen for a few months now, listening to the nagging feeling that both of them would benefit from the experience; waiting for the opportunity when they were both ready to accept the invitation and then for the stars to align so that all of our schedules permitted going to the class together.  Today was the day.  I didn’t even think about the fact that my teacher would also reap a reward, or that I would feel my heart fill to overflow just by getting to witness all of it.

During the class, I watched my mom experience a yoga-moment similar to the one I describe as a “heroine high” in my cancer story.  Arriving at a moment of bliss and raw emotion during a yoga practice for the first time marked the beginning of a very exciting part of my journey, so I am honored to have helped facilitate that in some tiny way for her.  I also introduced my teacher to my friend.  The two have common experiences in their histories, and I have wanted them to meet for some time.  Watching them interact today, I know with even more certainty that each will be a great gift to the other.  I can’t wait to see how this tiny stone’s throw of a simple introduction will continue to have ripple effects in the water of all of our lives.

When I got home, I told my husband about my vast accomplishments in healing humanity one person at a time.  He let me know that I also needed to add shopping for a new washer and dryer to my to-do list, because all of our towels smell like mildew, and he thinks it’s because the dryer is on the fritz.  I am filled with immense gratitude that his default explanation for stinky towels is a defective dryer and not my inability to remember when I start a load of laundry.  I am also grateful that while I am saving the world, one person at a time at yoga class, he is financing the operation so that I can do so with clothes that don’t stink.  People don’t actually want to spend much time with folks who stink.  Stinky clothes make the job of facilitating connections between humans exceedingly more difficult than it already is.

Feeling accomplished and filled with gratitude on a lovely morning.